Growing in Christ!

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

“Not as though I had already attained, either were already perfect: but I follow after, if that I may apprehend that for which also I am apprehended of Christ Jesus. Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 3:12-14 KJV).

Herein is the Christian’s spiritual growth—looking forward to deeper things and not looking back to the shallow!

Friends, around this time of year, now a decade ago (!), a brother in Christ and Bible teacher introduced my family and me to Pauline dispensationalism. His “Bible timeline” reminded me so much of what my parents had first believed many years before. Up to that point, due to two painful church splits fifteen years earlier, we had been in and out of various “fundamental”/“evangelical” churches. After years of “hopping” from one assembly to another, growing more disappointed in the apostasy and unbelief cropping up in each group, we were now being stabilized! The Spirit of God was using this Bible teacher to bring us back to His Word. Many months later, a pastor who taught Pauline dispensationalism also began to help us grow in the King James Bible.

We had trusted Jesus Christ as our personal Saviour many years earlier, but how we did not understand and enjoy the Bible until Pauline dispensationalism came to light in our lives! Dear friends, where I am now has taken 10 long years of thoughtful Bible study. While I still have unanswered questions, I can honestly say that, through diligent Bible study, a lot of my (once-nagging) questions have been answered. My Christian life now is so much more meaningful, more appreciated, more understood, and more exciting! Now I know what my Father God is doing today, and I can cooperate with Him by faith.

Saints, I look back on myself 10 years ago, stuck in denominational teaching and the traditions of men, and am now grateful to have been liberated from such spiritual confusion and doctrinal perversion. Never do I want to return to such ignorance! I am (still) growing in Christ! 🙂

Bible Q&A #345: “Do Matthew 17:15, Mark 9:17-18, and Luke 9:39 contradict?

Leave a Reply

