Captive!

Tuesday, March 15, 2016

“And the servant of the Lord must not strive; but be gentle unto all men, apt to teach, patient, In meekness instructing those that oppose themselves; if God peradventure will give them repentance to the acknowledging of the truth; And that they may recover themselves out of the snare of the devil, who are taken captive by him at his will” (2 Timothy 2:24-26 KJV).

Satan is desperately trying to keep his captives from hearing God’s truth!

A lady visited my home yesterday to invite my family and me to an upcoming program at her (nearby) church. Knowing her cult, I determined the best way to approach her was to mention the verse on her booklet’s cover. As I suspected, her religious tradition denied the everlasting nature of hell (“annihilationism”). The “wicked” would simply be burned up and become nonexistent, never suffering forever in fire and brimstone as the Bible teaches.

Yes, she was highly trained in her religion, arguing that the Bible verses commonly interpreted as “everlasting torment” were really “representations.” Still, she could not clearly explain what she meant—only that those passages were not literal. She grabbed Bible verses here and there to validate her denomination. I cautioned her that religious groups ignore verse contexts, politely “hinting” that I was aware of her dishonesty (without me ever actually saying “liar, liar”).

She did not know the Gospel by which we are saved today. (Once I gave it to her, she did not accept it). We talked about many Bible topics for about an hour before she, convicted by the Word, had to “hurry home.” She was very knowledgeable of verses to support her theology. But, she was surprised that someone (me) would mention verses she did not understand. Exiting my front door, with me following, she again said, “A loving God could not send people to suffer hell forever.” One final time, I gave the Gospel of Grace. I told her that God loved sinners so much that He did everything He could to prevent them from experiencing eternal judgment. He sent His Son to die for their sins. Rejecting Christ again, she hurried down my driveway to her vehicle.

Saints, let us preach God’s Word, patiently, gently, lovingly. What people do with it is their responsibility. We did ours! 🙂

Leave a Reply

