A Life Lived to Its Fullest

Friday, February 12, 2016

“I have glorified thee on the earth: I have finished the work which thou gavest me to do” (John 17:4 KJV).

A brief life lived to its fullest—the earthly life of Jesus Christ.

“He or she died so young” is frequently heard when individuals’ lives are tragically cut short. They could have become great engineers, magnificent physicians, wonderful scientists, or famous teachers, but they lost their lives to illnesses, accidents, crimes, et cetera.

Christ entered His public ministry around age 30 (Luke 3:23). The book of John estimates that ministry was three years. So, Jesus died on Calvary about age 33. But, He did much during those last three years—the busiest human life ever lived! There was so much divine wisdom to teach Israel, and so many miracles to perform. He could not dillydally arguing with every single critic. There was very little time to rest as those crowds thronged Him. His Father had sent Him to form a believing remnant in Israel, and He did it. By the time Jesus died, He had finished His mission.

In the moments leading up to Jesus’ arrest, we see into His heart by reading the words He prayed to His Heavenly Father: “[4] I have glorified thee on the earth: I have finished the work which thou gavest me to do. [5] And now, O Father, glorify thou me with thine own self with the glory which I had with thee before the world was. [6] I have manifested thy name unto the men which thou gavest me out of the world: thine they were, and thou gavest them me; and they have kept thy word. [7] Now they have known that all things whatsoever thou hast given me are of thee. [8] For I have given unto them the words which thou gavest me; and they have received them, and have known surely that I came out from thee, and they have believed that thou didst send me.”

The Lord Jesus then went to die on Calvary’s cruel tree, uttering from that cross, “It is finished” (John 19:30). Three days later, He rose again, utterly defeating death and Satan. Jesus Christ lives… ready to reign forever… never to die again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

